Astronomy and Astrophysics Programme, IISc
Home People Joint Astronomy Programme Student Opportunities Faculty Position Astronomy Links Contact

Indian Institute of Science (IISc) has an active research group in Astronomy and Astrophysics. Currently this group has five faculty members, working in different areas of astrophysics (Arnab Rai Choudhuri, Chanda J. Jog, Banibrata Mukhopadhyay, Tarun Deep Saini, and Prateek Sharma).

All of these faculty members are also faculty members in the Department of Physics.  We also coordinate the Joint Astronomy Programme (JAP) – a programme for training PhD students in astrophysics, jointly run with several collaborating institutes.

The Joint Astronomy Programme was established in 1982 before there was any astrophysics group in IISc.  The astrophysics group started here in 1986. 

At present this group is in a growth mode and is looking for bright young astrophysicists (both observers and theorists/simulators) interested in joining our faculty.  See Faculty positions.

We take students to do PhD degree under the supervision of the faculty members of our group. See Student opportunities.

Anyone interested in a postdoctoral position in our group can contact individual faculty members or apply for externally funded fellowships. Here is a list of fellowships open for young researchers.

Please see the IISc astro group's wikispaces page for latest information, especially the talk schedule. Latest JAP related information is here.

Here is the latest JAP course syllabus .

Magnetic structures near the solar surface
The whirpool galaxy M51
Accretion disk and jet in a binary system: taken from NASA website
     Design: SurfZone Technologies