Department of Physics,
Indian Institute of Science,
Bangalore 560012, INDIA.
phone: 91-80-2293-3285, 91-80-2360-7703    fax: 91-80-2360-2602

Academic Background:

Ph.D. (Physics)- 1982. State University of New York at Stony Brook, U.S.A.

Post-doctoral fellow. 1982-1984. Department of Astrophysical Sciences, Princeton University, U.S.A.

Assistant Professor. 1984-1986. Department of Astronomy, University of Virginia, U.S.A.

At IISc, Bangalore since 1987. Professor since 2002.

Academic coordinator, Joint Astronomy Programme, IISc (1994-2000, May 2007 - October 2011)

Awards and Honours:

• Homi J. Bhabha Medal for Physical Sciences, Indian National Science Academy (INSA), New Delhi (2017)

• IISc Alumni Award for Excellence in Research in Science (2016)

• Elected Fellow of The world Academy of Science (TWAS), Trieste-Italy (2015)

• J. C. Bose Fellowship of the Department of Science and Technology, India, 2015 - present

• Elected Fellow of the Indian National Science Academy (INSA), New Delhi (2012)

• MSIL Endowed Chair Professor for Excellence in Physical Sciences, 2012 October-2015 October

• Prof. S. K. Chatterjee Award for an outstanding woman scientist, IISc (2012)

• Elected Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad (2011)

• Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore (2007)

• Elected member of the Third World organization for Women in Science (TWOWS),Italy, (2000)

• University of Bombay Prize (1974) for First Rank in the University in B.Sc. (Physics-Mathematics)

• National Science Talent Scholarship by NCERT (1971)- special selection in Mathematics

Other Professional Recognitions/Contributions:

• Elected Member of the Governing Council of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi for the term 2017-2019

• Elected Member of the Governing Council of the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore for the term 2016-2018

• Chair of the IAU National Committee for Astronomy in India, appointed by INSA-ICSU, New Delhi for the four year term 2016-2019

• Elected Member of the Commission 19 on Astrophysics of IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics) for the terms 2014-2016 and 2017-2019

• Chief Editor of the Journal of Astrophysics and Astronomy published by the Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore 2010-2012

• Elected Member of the Organizing Committee of the International Astronomical Union IAU Commission 28 on Galaxies for two terms 2009-2015

• Elected Member of the Organizing Committee of the IAU Commission 33 on Structure & Dynamics of the Galactic System for the term 2012-2015

• Invited to be a Council Member of the Governing Council of IUCAA(Inter- University Centre for Astronomy & Astrophysics), Pune from 2011-2013

Research, Current Interests and Activities:

These cover theoretical problems in galactic dynamics, interstellar molecular clouds, and dynamics and evolution of interacting galaxies.

The emphasis has been to include both the stars and the interstellar gas in the dynamical studies of galaxies, so that the problems formulated are more realistic. Due to its low velocity dispersion and its dissipational nature, the inclusion of gas has a significant effect on the structure, stability, and the evolution of the entire galactic disk. The problems studied are either motivated by recent observations or our results make predictions which can be checked by future observations.

The topics of interest are:

Research Projects/ Grants

  • An Indo-French (CEFIPRA) Project titled "Dynamics of Lopsided Spiral galaxies" (IFCPAR project 2704-1), with Prof. Francoise Combes, of Observatoire de Paris, France, from 2003- 2007. This project was funded by the Indo-French centre for promotion of advanced research, New Delhi, and received a grade "Excellent" in the final review.

  • INSA Inter-Academy Visiting fellowship to Germany for three weeks September 22- October 11, 2007. The main host and the host institution: Prof. Simon D.M. White, Director, Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics, Garching, Germany

  • Royal Society (U.K.)-DST Phase II proposal- granted for a one-to-one visit (2008)- for Dr. Victor Debattista, Univ. of Central Lancashire, U.K., and myself on "Dynamics of centres of mergers of galaxies"

  • Meetings/Schools Organized Recently:

    1. Galaxy evolution and dynamical structures, Jan. 22 -24, 2018
    A workshop organized at IUCAA, Pune
    Organizers: Kanak Saha and Chanda J. Jog

    2. Workshop on Galaxies and Cosmology, July 7-14, 2014
    A workshop for PhD students and postdoctoral fellows, held at the National Centre for Radio Astronomy (NCRA), TIFR, Pune.
    Organizers: Jasjeet Bagla, Jayaram Chengalur, Chanda J. Jog, T. Roy Choudhury

    3. Title: The Structure of disks shaped by secular evolution and environmental processes.
    Location & Date: Rome, Italy, 2 July 2012
    Organizers: Paola Di Matteo & Chanda Jog

    Ph.D. Students/ Postdoctoral Fellows supervised

      1. Monica Valluri, Ph.D. (1993) "Environmental influences on spiral galaxies in clusters". Presently Faculty at Univ. of Michigan, U.S.A.; email:

      2. Mousumi Das, Ph.D. (1996) "Formation, internal support, and starbursts in molecular clouds in galaxies". Presently Faculty at the Indian Institute of Astrophysics, Bangalore; email:

      3. Dalia Chakrabarty, M.S. (1997) "Dynamical effects of a molecular cloud complex" Presently Faculty at the Univ. of Leicester, U.K.; email:

      4. Aparna Chitre (now Maybhate) (2001-2002), Postdoctoral fellow, "Studies of advanced mergers of galaxies using 2MASS archival data". Presently at the Space Telescope Science Institute, U.S.A. email:

      5. Chaitra Narayan, Ph.D. (2005) "Vertical scaleheight distribution of stars and gas in galaxies". A Humboldt Fellow, with Prof. R. Dettmar at Univ. of Bochum, Germany during 2005-2006.

      6. Kanak Saha, Ph.D., 2008 "Dynamics of warps and lopsidedness in galaxies". Presently Faculty at IUCAA (Inter University Center of Astronomy and Astrophysics) Pune; email:

      7. Rabbi Angiras, Ph.D., 2009 " A study of lopsidedness in spiral galaxies in groups". (co-guided with Dr. Dwarakanath, Raman Research Institute).

      8. Pratyush Pranav, M.S. 2009, " Self-consistent response of a galactic disk to tidal perturbations". Later joined Univ. of Groningen, the Netherlands for Ph.D.

      9. Arunima Banerjee, Ph. D., (2012), "Vertical structure of disk galaxies and their dark matter halos". Presently Faculty at IISER, Tirupati

      10. Rathulnath, R., M.S. (2013) " Dynamics of prolate shaped halos and warps"

      11. Jonathan Freundlich, Ph.D. (2015) "Star formation across cosmic time and its influence on galactic dynamics", (Co-guided with Prof. Francoise Combes, Observatory of Paris, France). email:

      12. Soumavo Ghosh, Ph.D. (2018) "Dynamical imprint of dark matter halo and interstellar gas on spiral structure of galaxies". Presently Cefipra postdoctoral fellow at IUCAA, Pune. email:

      13. Suchira Sarkar, Ph.D., Ongoing - "Vertical structure and dynamics of galaxies"

    Membership in Professional Societies

    • American Astronomical Society (AAS), 1985 - present

    • International Astronomical Union (IAU), 1988 - present

    • Astronomical Society of India (ASI), 1987 - present

    List of Publications