C H A N D A N     D A S G U P T A

Department of Physics
Indian Institute of Science
Bangalore, 560 012, INDIA
Phone: +(91) (80) 2933278
Fax: +(91 (80) 3602602
e-mail: cdgupta@physics.iisc.ernet.in

URL: http://www.physics.iisc.ernet.in/~cdgupta

Ph.D (Physics), University of Pennsylvania, 1973-1978.
M.Sc (Physics), Delhi University, 1971-73.
B.Sc (Honors in Physics), University of Calcutta, 1967-1971.

Professor, Department of Physics, Indian Institute of Science (1995 - present).
Visiting Professor, University of Maryland (2002-2003).
Visiting Professor, University of Minnesota (1994-1995).
Associate Professor, Indian Institute of Science (1989-95).
Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science (1987-89).
INSA Research Fellow, Indian Institute of Science (1986-87).
Visiting Assistant Professor, Indian Institute of Science (1983-84).
Assistant Professor, University of Minnesota (1981-83, 1984-86).
Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University (1980-81).
Postgraduate Research Physicist, University of California, San Diego (1978-80).

Warner Teutsch Memorial Prize, University of Pennsylvania (1974).
University Fellowship, University of Pennsylvania (1974-77).
Dissertation Year Fellowship, University of Pennsylvania (1977-78).
Research Fellowship from the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation (1984-87).
Research Fellowship from the Indian National Science Academy (1986-89).
Elected Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences in 1992.
DAE - Raja Ramanna Prize, 1999.
Elected Fellow of Indian National Science Academy in 1999.
Elected Fellow of National Academy of Sciences, India in 2000.

Collaborators (last 48 months):
Sankar Das Sarma (University of Maryland)
Ellen D. Williams (University of Maryland)
Satya N. Majumdar (Universite Paul Sabatier, Toulouse, France)
Oriol T. Valls (University of Minnesota)
Bulbul Chakraborty (Brandeis University)
Denis Feinberg (LEPES, Grenoble, France)
Recent Ph.D. advisees (9 total):
B. Chakrabarti (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
T. Joseph (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
Recent postdocs supervised :
A. Dhar (faculty member of Raman Research Institute, India)
Ph.D. Advisor :
A. Brooks Harris (University of Pennsylvania)
Postdoctoral mentors ::
Shang-keng Ma (University of California, San Diego)
Bertrand I. Halperin (Harvard University)
Synergistic activities:
Honorary Professor of the Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore (1998 - present).
Senior Associate of the S. N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, Calcutta (2000 - 2005).
Convener, Centre for Condensed Matter Theory, Indian Institute of Science (1998-2002).